Acknowledging the Call

I am opening this blog back up to map the course of God’s call on my life.

I grew up in a Christian home with loving parents that always showed me how to love God and share that love with others through missions. I became a Christian after hearing a missions report from my pastor following a trip to Burkina Faso, Africa.  Growing up I had the opportunity to be involved in many mission trips, both local and international. Involvement in missions has been a continuing thread throughout my life, much thanks to my parents and church for the opportunities they provided. Little did I know, God was using these opportunities to lead me to His bigger plan in my life.

My time at LeTourneau University continued to lead me by introducing me to field of Prosthetics. In choosing a field of study, I knew I wanted to do something that could be used to show God’s love in a concrete and physical way. During my time on the LEGS team, I found my calling. I went on to graduate school to pursue my education in Prosthetics and Orthotics. “My plan” was to eventually use my knowledge and skills with prosthetics and orthotics to help the less fortunate in the world.

Step forward 4 years….

I went to Latvia in December to visit a friend and get a break from the redundancy of life. I have been to Latvia many times and love the country and the people there. My visit was very good in more ways than I could have expected. It provided the ‘reset’ i needed in my life. I came back from this trip with a new look on life and my future. I have had a feeling of discontent ever since I have returned, both in my Christian life and my future. At first I thought I was just having withdrawals from the thrill and adventure from international travel. I was challenged to determine if this discontent was from God or my own desires.

The more I have prayed and seeked God for answers, I feel He is calling me into full-time missions, using my skills He has blessed me with in Prosthetics and Orthotics as a pathway to share His message to the less privileged.

God has led me to this place in my life and gave me opportunities and experiences to lead me where I am today. It is now time for me to use these blessings in the true calling He has placed on my heart.

I don’t know where, with who, or when this will happen, but I know that if this plan is in fact God’s plan, he will provide the opportunities and equip me in His timing (Acts 1:7-8, Luke 24:49). Until that time, I will continue to seek Him and His plan.

I want to ask if you will pray for me in determining God’s plan for my life, clarity in this call, and for opportunities to serve Him. In the mean time, pray that I will use my workplace as a mission field and minister to the people I serve everyday!

~Katie

3 thoughts on “Acknowledging the Call

  1. You have my prayers, Dear Katie! I’m thrilled with this news and I know God will lead you to the perfect place to serve Him. Please keep me posted!

  2. The Lord calls all of us into his ministry. I am glad that you are listening and pray that he will make the path clear to you. May he fill you with wisdom, insight, faith and strength as you continue this journey,

  3. Katie, may Almighty God who created you make known His plans for your life. Please, do not be discouraged but in all things give thanks to the Lord.
    Do not listen to the accuser of brethren (devil) and his agents whose work is only to make us not to reach our Devine destination. When they remind you of your past or weaknesses, remind him/them of how short/slim/doomed is his future in your life because you have known He who is Greater than All, Jehovah.
    Go ahead and in all things put God above all. Pray always without ceasing for God’s will is clearly evidenced in the prayers and hold on to the pure teachings of Our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ that assures us of eternal life in the kingdom of God.
    I’m so so proud of you. Go ahead in Jesus’ name.

Leave a comment